Posted on

Disclosure is an important thing to me. I try to always err on the side of disclosure when it comes to potential bias. Unfortunately, this can come across as name dropping or starfucking. The pedal business is a small, intimate affair. You will find that the simple process of shopping for a boutique fuzz will bring you in contact with the people who created them. I will always disclose what contact I have had with the manufacturers in question, even if it makes me sound like a name dropping douche.

Reed Miller of Bent Soundlabs is a close personal friend. Hell, I came up with the Bent part of the name. I have designed labels, named pedals, and shilled hard for Bent Soundlabs. I will never review a pedal Reed has built because of this relationship. I will write editorials about them, but I will always be clear about the relationship.

Sean Wright of Lollygagger FX is also a friend. I like Sean quite a bit and we have similar taste in music and pedals. I’m still going to review his stuff, but with a disclaimer. The Cherry Box is too cool not to share with the world.

Beyond that, I have had the great pleasure of talking to Joe Vella of Electro-Faustus, Tom Dalton of Fuzzhugger, and I have a serious crush on Devi Ever. I might be in love with Laura Bennett and her awesome painted enclosures.

I have had great experiences with Wilson Effects, DMB Pedals, and Earthquaker Effects. There are countless more companies making awesome stuff. My favorite fuzz of the moment was made by IdiotBox Effects.

If the time ever comes for me to review something from a company I’m not positive about, like JHS or Danelectro, I will both disclose my feelings and try my best to set them aside.

I think that is all I need to say on the matter. Questions, comments, or concerns below.

Leave a comment